CompressPictureCompress an image
Every re-encode happens on this device. No file is posted anywhere.

Photo and signature size for Indian forms

Pixels, KB range and format for each field, with the source each figure was read from and the date. Not affiliated with any exam body or government service.

Upload specs: body, field, size range, pixels, format, source and date read.
Body · fieldSizePixelsFormatSource
SSC · PhotographCGL 2026Captured live by webcam or phone inside the application; no photograph file is uploaded.Live capture, no filenot stated—Secondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live summary of the SSC CGL 2026 notification, read 2026-10-18ssc.gov.in · Report a change
SSC · SignatureCGL 2026Scanned signature, about 4.0 cm wide by 2.0 cm high.No DPI or pixel size is stated by the source.10–20 KB4 × 2 cmJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live summary of the SSC CGL 2026 notification, read 2026-10-18ssc.gov.in · Report a change
UPSC · PhotographOnline application (OTR)JPG only.Conflict: the same source also says the OTR upload may allow up to 1000 × 1000 px. Check the official instructions.20–300 KB350 × 350 pxJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalbharatnotes.com, citing the upsconline.nic.in instructions, read 2026-10-18upsconline.nic.in · Report a change
UPSC · SignatureOnline application (OTR)JPG only.20–100 KB350 × 150 pxJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalbharatnotes.com, citing the upsconline.nic.in instructions, read 2026-10-18upsconline.nic.in · Report a change
NTA · Passport-size photographNEET UG 2026White background; face covering about 80% of the photograph; ears visible.No pixel size is stated by the source.10–200 KBnot statedJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live news summary of the NEET UG 2026 registration, read 2026-10-18neet.nta.nic.in · Report a change
NTA · Postcard-size photographNEET UG 20264 × 6 inches, white background.No DPI or pixel size is stated by the source.10–200 KB4 × 6 inJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live news summary of the NEET UG 2026 registration, read 2026-10-18neet.nta.nic.in · Report a change
NTA · SignatureNEET UG 2026Black ink on white paper.No pixel size is stated by the source.4–30 KBnot statedJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live news summary of the NEET UG 2026 registration, read 2026-10-18neet.nta.nic.in · Report a change
NTA · Left and right thumb impressionsNEET UG 2026Clear impressions.No pixel size is stated by the source.10–200 KBnot statedJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live news summary of the NEET UG 2026 registration, read 2026-10-18neet.nta.nic.in · Report a change
NTA · Category / PwBD certificateNEET UG 2026PDF scanned from the original. This site does not write PDF yet; the check works on a PDF you already have.50–300 KBnot statedPDFSecondary — confirm on the official portalpw.live news summary of the NEET UG 2026 registration, read 2026-10-18neet.nta.nic.in · Report a change
Protean (NSDL) · PhotographPAN application, April 2026 changes3.5 cm wide by 5.0 cm high at 200 DPI (about 276 × 394 px), white background.The source says the photo size changed in April 2026 and that official pixel figures were not published; its data is marked partially verified.20–50 KB3.5 × 5 cm at 200 DPI (276 × 394 px)JPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalmergeimages.net, citing proteantech.in, read 2026-10-18proteantech.in · Report a change
Protean (NSDL) · SignaturePAN application, April 2026 changes4.5 cm wide by 2.0 cm high at 200 DPI (about 354 × 157 px), white background.10–50 KB4.5 × 2 cm at 200 DPI (354 × 157 px)JPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalmergeimages.net, citing proteantech.in, read 2026-10-18proteantech.in · Report a change
Passport Seva (MEA) · PhotographOnline passport applicationPlain white background.10–250 KB630 × 810 pxJPEGSecondary — confirm on the official portalmergeimages.net, citing passportindia.gov.in, read 2026-10-18passportindia.gov.in · Report a change
UIDAI · Proof documentmyAadhaar document updateJPEG, PNG or PDF, under 2 MB.under 2 MBnot statedJPEG, PNG, PDFSecondary — confirm on the official portalanantamias.com summary, read 2026-10-18myaadhaar.uidai.gov.in · Report a change
Instagram · Feed photoHelp CentrePhotos are kept at up to 1080 × 1080 pixels; larger uploads are reduced.no size statedlong edge up to 1080 pxJPEG, PNGPrimaryInstagram Help Centre, read 2026-10-18help.instagram.com · Report a change

Kept by CompressPicture editors. Last updated 2026-10-18; next review by 2027-04-18. Kilobytes are not defined by the sources; the tools here count 1,024 bytes unless you switch.

How to use this table

Find the field, then make the file in the order that works: pixels first, bytes last. The form photo tool and the signature tool read these same rows: one tap sets the pixels, shape, DPI, format and range, and the pre-upload check measures the file you download against them.

Questions people arrive with

Are these the official figures?
Each row says where it was read and when. Most are secondary summaries of the official notices and are labelled "confirm on the official portal", with a link to that portal. The notice for your cycle is the authority; figures change between cycles.
Why is a body I need missing?
Because its figures could not be read from a source on the date this table was last checked, and an unsourced figure is not shipped. Bank recruitment (IBPS) is held back for that reason. Use Report a change to point at the notice.
Does 50 KB mean 50,000 or 51,200 bytes?
The sources do not say. The tools here count 1,024 bytes to the kilobyte by default — the stricter reading for a cap — and print the exact bytes, with a switch for 1,000.
How often is this table checked?
Before each recruitment cycle and at least every six months. A row older than 180 days shows when it was last confirmed; older than a year, it is kept here but no longer offered as a one-tap spec in the tools.

Elsewhere on this site